Death From Above 1979 – The Physical World

Death From Above 1979Death From Above 1979’s 2004 debut You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine always struck me as a scorched earth deal, a grenade tossed by Sebastien Grainger and Jesse F. Keeler into an unsuspecting music scene before striding away, completely nonchalant.

The robustness of the record suggested a simplicity that belied how tricky it was to make a drum kit and a bass guitar sound this good. The fact that no one’s really replicated DFA1979 in the decade since is testament to that, however well groups like Royal Blood, Japandroids and DZ Deathrays might play in the same sandpit. It makes sense that Grainger and Keeler would step away from the group; the macho dance-rock template they’d provided was inherently restrictive, particularly when compared with the opportunities afforded within MSTRKRFT’s electronica.

Ah, but here we are a decade later, and the group’s 2011 reunion — one of many in the recent past, though few groups have reunited so quickly — has borne new fruit in the form of The Physical World, a full-bodied record that simultaneously demonstrates the enduring appeal of the DFA1979 sound and its inherent musical limitations.

Continue reading at The Essential.

One thought on “Death From Above 1979 – The Physical World

  1. Thanks for every other magnificent post. The place else may anyone get that kind of
    info in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation subsequent
    week, and I am on the search for such info.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s